Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 33 of 33

User Info Menu

I wanted to start this for all of you that have studied with other people in the past. Yes, a ton of people are self taught. I am not knocking them at all. I just wanted to give a space for those of us who reached out (and went broke) finding other people to study with.

These people don't have to be guys and gals you studied with in person, they could be people you've skyped with or had lessons over the phone (didn't Ted Green do that?) They don't even have to be "jazz" teachers. They could be classical cats, composition cats, or sousaphone soul seekers.

My only requirement is that you give a short description about what it was like to study with X, Y, and Z

So, on your mark, get ready, type!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I studied with a great local rock player from my beginnings atvage 12 til is was 18. He probably could have been tougher on me, but he opened my ears to a ton of music i might have never sought out on my own. By the time i finished with him, because of college, it was set in stone I'd be a guitar player for life.

Later, in my 20's, i returned to that same little studio to teach...with my old teacher still in the room right next door! The studio was was run by a great jazz pianist...in between lessons, my informal jazz mentorship began. He'd hear me noodling away on a standard and call me over to the piano, or pop in my doorway with yes--an accordion! He taught me so much about jazz "language."

He passed away in 2008. I still miss him every day.
    Jeff Matz, Jazz Guitar:
    http://www.youtube.com/user/jeffreymatz

"Jazz is like life...it goes on longer than you think, and as soon as you're like 'oh, I get it,' it ends."

--The Ghost of Duke Ellington