Likes Likes:  0
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 18 of 18

User Info Menu

Hey guys,

My name is Jordan. I'm a jazz guitarist living and working in NYC. And I really want to give one of you two free half hour Skype lessons. I'm an adjunct instructor at a major university here in the city and work privately with undergraduates. I'm also going to be wrapping up my masters degree here and have been insanely lucky to have studied with some of my all-time musical heroes. Scofield, Peter Bernstein, Brad Shepik, Alan Ferber, Stefon Harris, Jean-Michel Pilc, Ari Hoenig, Mark Turner, and others.

I have been teaching privately for about 10 years now, and now that I live here in the city, I was thinking of opening that up to offering Skype lessons. But here's the issue, and here's where you can get two free lessons with me. I am not very good with the gear side of things. If I'm going to teach on Skype, I want to make sure that the audio quality of my voice and my guitar are crystal clear for each of my students. I have a little M-audio interface. I am plugging my lapel mic into one channel of the interface, and I am running my guitar through a small amp and then running a line out from the amp into the other channel of the interface. When I check the audio preferences on my mac and choose the m-audio interface, it shows both the guitar and my voice mic and being picked up within my computer...but for some reason when I go to use Skype, only my voice is audible, and the guitar can't be heard...except as bleed through from the voice mic.

If any of you guys out there are good with gear and can help me fix the issue so that the guitar and the voice mic are picked up and can be heard clearly through Skype, I'd love to barter with you by offering you two free 30-minute sessions with me for your time and help.

Let me know if you think you can help!

Thanks a bunch guys!
    Best
    Jordan

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu