Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 31 of 31

User Info Menu

Hey all, I'm sure some of you teach private guitar lessons like me. I have a student who recently finished Hal Leonard method book III, and as you probably know (at least afaik) there doesn't seem to exist any guitar method book IV, not only for Hal Leonard, but for all of the method book series that I am aware of. So I'm wondering if any of you can suggest reading books that pick up more or less where a method book III tends to leave off. I'll be honest I've been teaching for 15+ years and this is the first time I've even had a student go through all 3 books. I have a few miscellaneous advanced reading books but they seem to be way too advanced for her. There has got to be something in between the advanced reading books I have and HL3. FYI, we've been doing a lot of other stuff too not just the method book: she also just completed Troy Stetina's metal rhythm book I, and has learned several random songs she likes, and even written several songs. We are probably going to have her get Stetina's metal rhythm book II as well as his metal lead book I, but I really want her to have a book that focuses on developing notation reading, without necessarily having to go the classical route. I realize the classical guitar method is the best fleshed out system for developing reading skills but I don't want to bore her with classical guitar studies if possible. It seems there is a big void for a modern guitar method in the reading development department. Suggestions?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Guitarzen View Post