Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 33 of 33

User Info Menu

Hey guys/gals,

I've been pondering for the last few months about trying to start teaching guitar. I've been playing for several years now, but I have no formal education in music. I guess I just thought that instantly disqualified me .

But my aunt was in town this weekend and stayed at my house for a couple nights and she teaches piano, but doesn't know squat about guitar, but wants to learn. I was showing her a few things and found myself really feeling like I knew what I was talking about.

For instance, she was elated that I taught her how to play an open Em chord. She thought that was pretty cool. I'm no stranger to teaching because I used to be a flight instructor. I also would like to post lessons online some day too, but wouldn't really feel good about that until I had one-on-one experience first.

I guess my question is, how do you get started teaching guitar? I'm very confident that I know enough to teach beginners, iffy on intermediate students though.

Also, you guys that teach...are any of you doing it full time? $50/hr isn't too shabby. Any thoughts, suggestions?

Thanks

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Howard Roberts said you everything you learn you should teach someone. That if you can explain it to someone else that mean you understand it. Of course he said some aren't ready yet to go and charge people, so find someone you can explain this too so you can talk it through.