Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 18 of 18

User Info Menu

Hi all.

Up to now I've been mostly a lurker, since there are plenty of people with great contributions to make, and I'm just a deliberately amateur student myself. So I just learn and learn.

This time I have a question I have't found answered. Has anybody tought of taking singing lessons? I'm talking about *guitar* players.

I don't see myself (and I've never have) as a singer. On one hand I'm a bit curious about that instrument we all are born with, and I want to be prepared as well in case I can contribute some backing vocals and the like (which has happened a handful of times with not too bad results). But I'm not pursuing a singing career.

My main goal would be to become a better *guitar* player, by thinking about music, improvising, visualizing... without the guitar. You know, sometimes you run out of ideas but your hands keep playing mechanical things, and I thought singing lessons could be of help for improving that: creating music with your head, not with your hands.

Is this a silly idea? Has anyone tried this before?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

When I was at GIT Norman Brown was our group's main teacher and he was in process of getting his recording contract and do his first CD. Norman talked about his taking singing lessons and how much it helped his phrasing and he said really made the difference in his playing that got him his contract.
    No, I'm not going to give you the answer to your question. I don't want to deny you the pleasure you'll receive when you figure it out yourself. -- Bill Evans talking to his brother.

User Info Menu

Vocal lessons are often mostly about technique, tone production, that kind of thing.