The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 13 of 13

User Info Menu

Hi everybody,

in these days i'm studying Bill Evans' tune called "Waltz for Debby", a beautiful song in 3/4, but there's something that i can't understand.

The score which is on Real Book, has 20 bars on the part 3, the last part of the tune, but listening the recording it seems that there are 22 bars instead of 20!

I don't know if anybody could help me!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Fra88
    Hi everybody,

in these days i'm studying Bill Evans' tune called "Waltz for Debby", a beautiful song in 3/4, but there's something that i can't understand.

The score which is on Real Book, has 20 bars on the part 3, the last part of the tune, but listening the recording it seems that there are 22 bars instead of 20!

I don't know if anybody could help me!
    I think Bill often repeated those two bars near the end of the form, if you listen to a version with lyrics (see Bill with Tony Bennett) it'd be "They will miss her I fear but then so will/ Miss her I fear but then so will I"

Builds a bit of tension under the pedal point and then gets swinging for the solos.

Quote Originally Posted by mr. beaumont
    I think Bill often repeated those two bars near the end of the form, if you listen to a version with lyrics (see Bill with Tony Bennett) it'd be "They will miss her I fear but then so will/ Miss her I fear but then so will I"

Builds a bit of tension under the pedal point and then gets swinging for the solos.
    Also this version seems 80 bars instead of 78!

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Fra88
    Also this version seems 80 bars instead of 78!

I'd count it as 40 bars, but the form is correct here, does not contain that added "tag" I mentioned above...I like it as a 2/4 bossa feel.

I'll check my Real Book when I get home and see what's missing. Do you have an old one or a Hal Leonard "Sixth Edition?"