The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16

User Info Menu

Hi guys - I have years of experience with the guitar, but as a jazz beginner I'm looking to get started on analysing a few miles davis tunes - what are some easy ones to tackle for a relative beginner?
    Last edited by Frank1985; 05-17-2022 at 02:24 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

All Blues,Solar,Tune up,,So What....

User Info Menu

If you could say a little more about what Miles albums you like, or why you point out Miles instead of, say, Wayne Shorter or Charlie Parker, it might help focus the question. Miles recorded bebop with Charlie Parker, and he recorded a slick Michael Jackson ballad from Thriller, and he recorded some of the rawest and most punk-rock fusion of the 1970s. Which Miles do you like?

This thread on Bruce Forman's "getting started" tune list might be helpful to you if you really want to focus on the common practice repertoire that Miles helped define in the 1950s:

Bruce Forman's list of 10 tunes for beginners

Another take on what tunes to learn, by Ethan Iverson:

https://twitter.com/ethan_iverson/st...73717809201152

and

https://twitter.com/ethan_iverson/st...29728397615106

User Info Menu

For a beginner a great place to start is So What. Learn Miles' solo. Practice comping and minor chord forms. Improvise and keep your place in the form.

User Info Menu

Start with the Kind of Blue record and listen non stop for month. You will discover many periods covering Bebop, Cool, The Quintet with Tony Williams,Herbie Hancock,Wayne Shorter, Ron Carter.
    Fusion with John McGlaughlin,etc. Newer Fusion in the 80’s, Tutu.

Thers so many periods, and so much great music! No matter what it’s a Great Adventure!

User Info Menu