• 20-30

3 2.86%
  • More than 30

4 3.81%
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 71

User Info Menu

I'm curious regarding the answer between a giging and non-giging musician.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

6-10. I'm a non-giging musician.

So far today I played: Footprints, Li'l Darlin, Look to the Sky, Mercy Mercy Mercy, My One and Only Love, One Note Samba, Route 66, Goodbye Pork Pie Hat, All The Things You Are.
    Last edited by fep; 02-21-2010 at 07:26 PM.

User Info Menu

i put 6-10, but the day before a solo gig i'l run thru at least the head of 15-20 tunes...

there's about 40-50 songs I can pretty much pull off at anytime, but I ike to go over them now and then and twaek things too...no sense in getting too complacent...

here's what i've run thru today and spent some time on (so far, IIRC)

my one and only love
    peace
    all across the city
    alone together
    wave
    and 3 originals...so that's 8.

User Info Menu

I'm also technically a non gigging musician. As mentioned before, I play at one nursing home once a week for about an hour and a quarter. When I do practice, I play pieces of songs to perfect certain chord substitutions and to find the best voicings for a particular tune. It helps me to better prepare for chord melody solos on the fly. Don't get me wrong, I'm not a good on the fly soloist so that's when I tell my captive audience to turn down their hearing aids. They don't hear my clinkers and my solos sounds better that way.

User Info Menu

I gig 3-4 nights a week in these quiet months-6-7 nights after Paddys Day and Easter through the Summer. Not jazz-pop/country/pub/wedding stuff. During the day I'll run through maybe 20-30 jazz songs, practicing for the jazz band. I'll never practice the stuff we do out for the pubs and clubs-I've been doing that all my life. Jazz NEEDS practice, though-at least I do!

User Info Menu