• 20-30

3 2.86%
  • More than 30

4 3.81%
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Posts 26 to 50 of 71

User Info Menu

I'm a amateur but I play in two bands and I gig one or two times a months.
    So I have a repertoire of maybe 50-60 tunes. When i have a gig i study maybe 30 tunes to prepare the concert. In the other days i usually play one or two tunes from my repertoire or not, aplying some new stuff that I learned. Also I always try to sight read a tune that I don't know, and improvise over it. So I can say average of 5 tunes a day?Maybe.

Sorry for my bad english

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Gigs (1 or 2 a week) generally run somewhere around 15 songs per gig, slightly less for the big band (once or twice a month) because the songs are longer.

Jams (defined loosely) maybe 10, and I do that twice a week, sometimes three times.

And, I'm in new band that works on maybe 5 per weekly rehearsal.

For practice, it depends on what I'm working on. Yesterday, I played one tune repeatedly, just to get the melody up to speed with accurate time. Other days I may play a bunch of tunes, picking random keys, to work on finding things without thinking too much. I don't have a pattern.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by fep
    This poll comes back from the dead...

I wanted to discuss why I was curious and why I orginally posted this poll?

I've noticed that with the musicians I run across there seems to be a direct correlation between how many songs they know and how well they play.

Many of the average players and amatuers I know play maybe 10-20 tunes or so and some are still using charts to get thru those tunes. I suspect these players play very few tunes per day. It's easy to practice what we know really well, but practicing what we already know is not very effective use of ones practice time.