The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 49

User Info Menu

Hi all,
    I am struggling through Stella By Starlight and it got me thinking that it's unusual twists and turns seemed to foreshadow the more abstract and less functional composing of players like Wayne Shorter in the 60s. I was interested to know of other standards that may have been inspirations for this type of composing as I really love the edgier more ambiguous sound of this style. Sorry if not very clear I am not an expert on terminology!

Thanks in advance!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Your post is clear..and yes the term "jazz" began to "evolve" ..I think with the release of Kind of Blue by Miles..the influence it had and still does have on musicians and their approach
    to composition and improvisation.and there are many composers that have infused classical folk and rock in their work..Carla Bley is one composer who has influenced me in this type of setting

the traditional road map to harmonic structures in a tune were replaced with harmony created by non-diatonic scales and chord structures..and the standard cadence/turn around was gone..

the young composers from the "miles school"..Hancock Corea McLaughlin Shorter and many others created new approaches to music in general and the term jazz was in question by many..

Miles has be said he didnt like the term jazz..perhaps is was too confining.. I agree..If Bitches Brew is being labled "jazz" ..then why not the the works of Guthrie Govan. (and some of Frank Zappa)

His music is beyond the safe label of rock..his solos are more "jazz/fusion" and his harmonic map is a composite of many complex scales and chord structures that do not follow given rules
    Yet it is innovative and has influenced many new players to study theory and harmony in order to understand it better ..in order to go beyond the "rules" so to speak

Quote Originally Posted by wolflen