The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 40

User Info Menu

Found it today on youtube. Absolutely great. If anybody is able to check the triads out quick I d be very happy. I m near measure 6 and not too sure about it.
    Have fun and enjoy.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Nifty!
    Hadn't seen John with a beard before...

User Info Menu

He was sitting in at Small's tonight, and has the beard. I didn't recognize him at first. He was introduced as an unannounced and unpaid guest. He can play, beard or no beard.

User Info Menu

Micheal,

Thanks for posting this. I've seen him play this before, but couldn't quite figure out what he was playing.

I'm just getting started with this kind of comping where you harmonize a moving bass line. So this is very helpful to me. I can clearly see what he's doing. I just need to try it out on the guitar tomorrow.

Post what you came up with. Maybe we can help each other out on this one.

Hey, Jack!
    Here´s the first run as I see/hear it. Working on more.
    What do you think?

Bbmaj6 6x57xx
    B° 7x57xx
    Cm7 8x88xx
    F7 x878xx
    Dm7 10x1010xx
    C#° 9x89xx
    Cm7 8x88xx
    F7 x878xx

User Info Menu

Hey Mike, this is what I came up with:

A 1 and 2
    Bar 1 - Bb6 6x57xx
    Bar 1 - Bdim 7x67xx

Bar 2 - Cm7 8x88xx
    Bar 2 - F7 x878xx

Bar 3 - Bbmaj7/D 10x8 10xx (Dm7 works fine, but I think he's playing Bbmaj7/D)
    Bar 3 - C#dim 9x89xx

Bar 4 - Cm7 8x88xx
    Bar 4 - F7 x878xx

Bar 5 - Fm7 x868xx
    Bar 5 - Bb7 6x67xx

Bar 6 - Ebmaj7 x658xx
    Bar 6 - Edim x756xx

Bar 7 - F9sus x8888x

Bar 8 - Bb6 6x57xx
    Bar 8 - F9 x8788x (only in 1st "A" section)

Bridge

Bar 17 - Am7 5x55xx

Bar 18 - D7 x545xx

Bar 19 - G7 3x34xx
    Bar 19 - Adim 5x45xx

Bar 20 - Bbdim 6x56
    Bar 20 - G7/B 7x57

Bar 21 - C7 8x89
    Bar 21 - Ddim 10x9 10xx

Bar 22 - D#dim 11x10 11xx
    Bar 22 - C7 12x10 12xx

Bar 23 - Cm6 8x788x

Bar 24 - F13 x6776x