The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 35

User Info Menu

Hi all,

this is my first post here. I'm quite new to the Jazz guitar (coming from a rock background) and I stumbled upon this tune. I know it's not a classic jazz standard, but I'd like to have some opinions on how to play over these chords.

My feeling is just pentatonic but I know there's something more out there for this tune for sure .

Thanks for any info!

Why don't you do right-hl_dds_0000000000221128-png

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

if I was to name one scale, it would be D harmonic minor, with addition of natural B.

User Info Menu

I think my favorite version of this tune (and I'm not being sarcastic) was Jessica Rabbit in Who Framed Roger Rabbit.

Thanks for the answers. I like the movie version too, even more than the original. I find that this tune works better with a sexy mood than with a fast paced, foot-tapping one.
    I wish there were more versions of this out there.

User Info Menu

I'm wondering about the Dm6 and Bm7b5 chords indicated here: they're the same notes! (Dm6 = D F A B; Bm7b5 = B D F A)

I can see if if one needs that bass line root movement (D to B) but it didn't grab me when I tried it. Am I missing something?

Quote Originally Posted by MarkRhodes
    I'm wondering about the Dm6 and Bm7b5 chords indicated here: they're the same notes! (Dm6 = D F A B; Bm7b5 = B D F A)

I can see if if one needs that bass line root movement (D to B) but it didn't grab me when I tried it. Am I missing something?
    It's a minor 1-6-2-5 with a tritone sub. I think the bass line just solidifies that pattern.

User Info Menu

The first four chords in the chart are a I VI II V cycle in a minor key, with a tritone sub in place of the II. Repeated I VI II V cycles can be pretty boring. The tritone sub spices it up by introducing notes outside the key.