The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 21 of 21 FirstFirst ... 11192021
Posts 501 to 510 of 510

User Info Menu

Thanks you David for your time and efforts on this thread! It has been very helpful (even if I haven't absorbed it all in this first pass) and will make a great resource going forward.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

The teacher appears when the student is ready.

This thread seems to be exactly what I need so I will try to follow closely.

I'm actually studying Trinity grade 7 classical guitar but jam a bit of jazz most Friday mornings so this thread will definitely help with that.

Currently I'm trying to play changes using the material from An Introduction To Jazz Soloing by Joe Elliot but using Leavitt fingerings. I'm getting the concept of mixing comping and solo lines etc so it will be interesting to record each song and listen to myself improve with creating lines etc over time.

I won't do an hour per day but I'll do what I can as it will be a late night project when the rest of the family is in bed.

I'll be starting with Autumn Leaves and am excited to see where this will go.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by ibnrushd
    Truth Hertz,

I tried the descending whole step exercise, but I don't quite understand what you mean when you say it's a step toward outside/inside playing over standards.
    I see the changes of a given piece as being informed, and restricted by the melodies and implied melodies of the piece. In the weekly running of this thread, I've tried to encourage the possibilities of diverging from the more traditional way of fulfilling harmony (strictly diatonic) and a more open ended treatment of the solo space.