The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 43
    Hey everyone.

I'm working on the tune "Here's That Rainy Day" and trying to figure out the proper scales and modes to use over each chord when improvising. I'm new to this so I would like your comments on my work so far..
    It's especially the last part of the tune i just can't figure out, a progression om not knowing/into or? ... But if i'm wrong elsewhere please comment.

This is the last 16 bars of the tune:

Gmaj7 (G ionian), Bb7 (Bb mixolydian), Ebmaj7 (Eb ionian), Abmaj7 (Ab lydian)

A-7(add 11) (A Dorian), D7 (D mixolydian), Gmaj7 (G ionian), D-7 (D Dorian) G7(b9) (G mixolydian or some sort of diminished)

Cmaj7 (C ionian), A-7 (?) D13/C (?), B-7 (?) E-7 (?), A13 (?)

A-7(add 11) (A dorian), D7 ( D mixolydian), G6 (G Ionian) E-7 (E Aeolian), A-7 (A dorian) D7 (D mixolydian).

Well I hope it's understandable and someone can teach me some theory here.

Thanks
    Last edited by JonasSlavensky; 07-21-2016 at 04:13 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

ted greene gave me some tips on this one...

Its ALL in G...

the first four chords form a (Dameron turnaround--AKA Coltrane turnaround) so its a I bIII7 bVIM7 bIIM7..ii7 V7 IM7-GM7 for 2 bars 23-24-to second ending..

(Im not seeing a prep ii7-V7 going into the C chord..)(the B note is tied for two bars from the GM7 chord--bars 23-24) then it goes straight to CMA7 (bar 25)--which is the IVM7 chord..then V7

then two beats of iii7...two beats of vi7 -- II7..ii7/11--two beats of V7-- two beats of V9 then IM13 or 6/9-end

now..there are a few versions of this tune..I have seem some beginning the tune with Gmi7...so your chords could be ok...but I don't agree with their function..so

my take on your chords in question-at bar 25--

IVM7 to V7 then its iii7 vi7 ii7 V7 I-end

hope this helps
    Last edited by wolflen; 07-21-2016 at 06:43 PM.

User Info Menu

Wow! Really?