The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 23 of 23

User Info Menu

Just wanted to share...

I hadn't been that much of a Thelonious Monk fan and had not learned many of his tunes. Earlier this year I started playing with some guys that really knew a lot of them and could play them well. I was stuck reading charts for these tunes - some of these tunes are really hard and I found reading them on a first run through to be extremely difficult (and frustrating!)

Steve Cardenas has an excellent Monk transcription book (just heads) called the Thelonious Monk Fake Book. If you don't have it, I highly recommend it. When I'm trying to get really inside a tune I usually would learn it by ear, but in this case I was just more trying to get some familiarity so I could play the tunes at a passable level in the sessions I was going to. The book is great. It's only $20, has a great intro, all the charts are very clear, sound good, and any oddities are explained thoroughly.

If you haven't yet dug into some of his tunes I'd highly recommend it. If you're at about the same "level" I'm at then they can be tough to trudge through but very rewarding. His melodic, harmonic, and rhythmic sensibilities are really unique and I feel that just learning and playing his tunes has helped my playing a lot and opened up a lot of doors.

"Ask Me Now" is one that I've been working on. To me, it seems so strange at first but with a little analysis the tune makes a lot of sense...getting inside the tune even just on paper has been very rewarding and exciting.

Lastly, Kurt Rosenwinkel's renditions of Monk tunes on his "Standards Trio" CD really take my breathe away too. Insanely masterful chord melody arrangements of already quite difficult tunes. If you're in the same place I'm in of just getting feet wet with monk, those are some amazing takes to check out as well. That album completely blows my mind, and I had never really been a huge Kurt fan until hearing it.