The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Curious for input on sound quality, I’m totally new to this kind of recording. Usually, I am just record on iPhone and go with it. This is on a Mac, logic studio, pro apogee element 46. its only 40 seconds of improv, 2 mics, one panned left -35 and other panned R +35 with LineOut in center. Mics are SM57 R and Royer R 121 L

Stream 16_February_2023_Sample.m4a by NSingh | Listen online for free on SoundCloud

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I am on an iPad, so take it with a grain of salt. Nothing sounds obviously bad, but this isn't perhaps the typical way you would pan these mics. Typically you blend a 57 and a ribbon to create one sound. You could then mix it to taste with the di. If you wanted to keep your current panning, I would probably go with the ribbon mic in the middle, as it likely has the most low frequency content. Then pan the others, and put a stereo reverb on panned left and right.

Hope that helps.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by vintagelove
    I am on an iPad, so take it with a grain of salt. Nothing sounds obviously bad, but this isn't perhaps the typical way you would pan these mics. Typically you blend a 57 and a ribbon to create one sound. You could then mix it to taste with the di. If you wanted to keep your current panning, I would probably go with the ribbon mic in the middle, as it likely has the most low frequency content. Then pan the others, and put a stereo reverb on panned left and right.

Hope that helps.
    Thank you. It does, I appreciate it. If you blend the 57 and ribbon, does that mean both are dead center?

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by NSJ
    Thank you. It does, I appreciate it. If you blend the 57 and ribbon, does that mean both are dead center?
    Yes, you blend with level not pan..but, anything goes, it's your "sound "