The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 32

User Info Menu

Hi,

I'm a gigging musician and also a guitar teacher.
    I'm wondering about review of people who switched from paper to tablet for work ?
    I'd like the idea to have everything centralized in one place ( i have tons of music sheet for my different bands, for the classes i give... )
    I also like the idea of not needing a light on stage to read my charts, and the ability to use the iRealPro app.

Any pro and con ?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Do all musicians have to have notes in front of them?
    Tablets are good because nobody wants to burden their memory.
    Last edited by kris; 06-30-2022 at 11:31 PM.

User Info Menu

Always have a backup power supply available

As usual, there are quasi-religious wars among fans of Apple and Windows tablets. I don't know whether one is better than the other, but pick the one that's most common among the circles in which you circulate.

Same for display software.

Actually, select the software first (most common, etc.) and then get the hardware it runs on.

User Info Menu

A couple of thoughts.

I run Irealpro on my phone and it's generally been readable enough. I also use it for practice. IRealpro always puts a tune on 1 page afaik, which means sometimes the font is small, but mostly it's fine.

I haven't switched to tablets but I know a lot of people who have.

The most advanced guy has one for every member of the band. He's working on being able to control all of the from his tablet. That is, he picks the tune and everybody sees the same one automatically.

But, this took a lot of work. For one thing, a lot of his charts were multiple pages with complicated roadmaps.

So, he decided to get them down to no more than 2 pages. He then got married to Sibelius.