The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 21 of 21

User Info Menu

Hi, I’m a beginner jazz player and am looking to work on playing with a drum looper-I don’t have others to practice with. Some parameters I am trying to stay within: I am not looking to do a lot of sophisticated stuff, just basic backing tracks. I am liking the idea of either a Digitech trio -can get a used one for not much. Another option is BIAB, which would have the added benefit of saving backing tracks and also more customization, but the negative of a longer learning curve, needing to add a studio monitor to my laptop etc. Spending time on setup/learning curve for the software is not great as I’d rather spend my time playing and I don’t have a ton of time to devote. Another option is the cheap drum loopers like Donner and Flamma , but I don’t know whether they have a lot of jazzy options. Any thoughts on pluses/minuses from people who have gone down this path?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Check out the apps Drumgenius and iReal Pro as low cost options first.

iReal Pro is like a not-as-nice-sounding BIAB but for $15 or so. You can preload 1300+ jazz standards into it without having to build out the songs manually. I mostly just play to the bass with a click on 2 and 4. Sounds pretty good.

Drumgenius is strictly drum beats, but they are from real recordings and sound great.

User Info Menu

+1 iRealPro

User Info Menu

Biab

User Info Menu

You might also want to try the many jazz backing tracks on YouTube before spending any money. And you can download one of several decent drum machine apps to make and play rhythm loops on your computer or mobile device.

Both iRealpro and BIAB are fine as well. The advantage for practice is that you can change tempo and key on any tune.

User Info Menu

+ 1 on iRealpro and Dumgenius