The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hi there,

I'm just getting ready to purchase my first cab mic, my amp is a vox pathfinder 10 (yes I know it's not the best - I'm a student so that's what I could afford).

I have a scarlett 2i2 audio interface which I would plug it into.

I have about 500cad or 400usd at max to spend.

What I've learned from reading the other threads is that a ribbon mic would give me the warmest sound and so I've found these mics:

Another option would be the sm57.

If anyone has recommendations - let me know.

Best,
    C

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

The Sennheiser 906 (not 609!) is good for guitar cabs live, and for recording. Just hang it over cab and go!

User Info Menu

An SM57 is indestructible, relatively inexpensive, and an industry standard so its eq properties are well known.

User Info Menu

I went through a lot of mics trying to find the most accurate sound. I settled on a condenser. Dynamic mics plain old did not give me the detail that I require, and did not represent the sound of my rig. Dynamic mics are designed around micing live sound - aka being able to handle lots of decibels and compress it down to a useable sound. They're not designed to give an accurate sound. Side note: I actually use a discontinued Pathfinder 15 lol. I did get a new amp tho, but I use the lil open back with a 8" Jensen in there as my cab. But yeah, I urge you to check out condenser mics in your price range as they will give you the most accurate sound.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Will Box
    The Sennheiser 906 (not 609!) is good for guitar cabs live, and for recording. Just hang it over cab and go!