The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16

User Info Menu

Hi Folks,

I am beginning to move from comping jazz standards using Chord sheets to the beginning stages of working up solos and needing to write down my jazz lines. It seems there are an overwhelming number of sheet music software options out there. I thought I would check in here on the Forum to see what recommendations some of you might have for me to consider, your favorites or what are the top few most people use I should look at? I would like to be able to clearly lay out/document my jazz lines by measure. I would like to be able to add vocals into my sheets as the vocals help me keep track of where I am. The easier to use the better, I really feel like a dinosaur when it comes to using technology like this. I am not very good at it.

FYI Some Songs I have been working on.

Mood Indigo Bill Ward and Melvin Fong

My Blue Heaven, Bill Ward Rhythm Guitar and Vocals

Mood Indigo/Someone to watch over me Bill Ward Guitar and Vocals

Thanks in advance!

Bill

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

A lot of us, including myself, are using Musescore and it's free.
    Free music composition and notation software | MuseScore

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by fep
    A lot of us, including myself, are using Musescore and it's free.
    Free music composition and notation software | MuseScore
    That's all I've been doing during the pandemic. 22 arrangements/compositions for big band. I even composed a piece for chamber orchestra recently. I love it, but the sax sounds are pretty cheesy.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by sgcim
    That's all I've been doing during the pandemic. 22 arrangements/compositions for big band. I even composed a piece for chamber orchestra recently. I love it, but the sax sounds are pretty cheesy.