The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 22 of 22

User Info Menu

Can anyone recommend a USB mic? I've been using a borrowed Yeti Blue for a few months, but they need it back. Are there any other alternatives I should consider? I see that Yeti has two more expensive models than the one I've been using ($130). The Yeti X ($170) and the Yeti Pro ($250!)

Blue - Yeti

Alternatives to Yeti for a USB mic?

Thanks all.
    WS

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I have been looking at the same things, this site is really helpful.

User Info Menu

I've heard and read very good things about the Rode NT-USB microphone ($169) and its newer, smaller cousin, the Rode NT-USB Mini ($99). LOTS of videos on YouTube about them (the Mini in particular).

User Info Menu

I am sooooo behind the times..
    And I need to catch up.

So with something like a USB mic, that can go right into my laptop and I can record in Reaper or something? Or do I still need an audio interface in between?

I'm as clueless as possible when it comes to digital recording.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by mr. beaumont

So with something like a USB mic, that can go right into my laptop and I can record in Reaper or something?.
    Yes. USB mics require no digital audio interface.

USB mics, in my experience, are good for talking (-podcast, voiceover). I'm not sure how well they capture singing. (Does anyone know?)

User Info Menu

I already owned good condenser microphones. I ordered and use this.

Behringer Xenyx 302USB mixer

It works well for guitar and singing, I just place it above, just out of the video frame.

With that position the blend of voice and guitar seems just right.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by mr. beaumont
    I am sooooo behind the times..
    And I need to catch up.