The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 19 of 19

User Info Menu

I’m a newbie to backing tracks. For years I’ve thought they would be great over playing alone. I just haven’t gotten around to it. Any suggestions welcome. I have a blue tooth speaker I’m thinking of using. I like various genres. Any links for free stuff would be great but I’m open to subscribing.

Actually , I have Spotify, and I just searched there and they have some. That’s a start.

Thanks .

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Update to add Spotify has lots of tracks. Just no tips like chords or key.

User Info Menu

Aebersold now has a streaming service: https://streaming.jazzbooks.com/

Their backing tracks are usually great but I haven't tried this new streaming service. Anyone?

User Info Menu

Since my op I’ve been having a blast with a few basic ones I found on Spotify ...major, minor,jump blues, some funk etc using a large Bluetooth speaker.

In recent memory, unfortunately I may only jam once a year with an actual human. Not being used to it I always feel very rusty .. because I am I suppose. This is a good tool for that. Should have done this years ago.

For jazz I know I’d need chords provided. Great start though.

User Info Menu

YouTube has a ton, all styles, shows the chords and some have suggested scales to get started with.....

User Info Menu

I like IRealPro, a phone app for about $10. You can download thousands of songs. It's rare that somebody mentions a tune it doesn't have.

You get a chord chart and it plays it back in a style that you can change. No melody.

Options include changing the key, tempo, style, mix of instruments. You can save a song in midi and then import into notation software. You can modify the chords and you can make your own charts.

I usually set it for 13 repeats and change key by a fourth each chorus. Great practice tool.