The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 17 of 17

User Info Menu

Using Audacity on a low-performance notebook. What I'm looking for (I believe) is something along the lines of a gate or auto swell which can be programmed to remove the initial pick attack on an already recorded track to give a post-production bowed effect. I've used a volume pedal in the past but, of course, it's no good for faster passages.

Cheers

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I looked at the effects in Audacity and I couldn’t see anything like this. Found a pretty cool wahwah effect though, sounds quite good!

If you’ve got the time, you could apply a fade-in effect to each note individually....as a last resort!

User Info Menu

Yes, although I'm not very experienced in the use of this kind of software, I did a trial reversing individual wave forms (notes to me) and achieved a result similar to that of the EHX Attack Decay effect. It's a bit synth-y sounding.

I can see fade-in working well, though it would be great if that could be automatically applied to every note. I'll try the wah, too!

User Info Menu

I tried fade-in on individual notes and it sounds more natural than reverse

So, looking at these wave forms, I'm wondering if there's any way I can get Audacity to apply the same fade-in preset to "all new wave form spikes", ie, where the pick attack lies.

I actually have a Sonuus i2M Musicport (midi-USB), but my little notebook doesn't want to know anything about it and, even if it did, I think latency would make it unworkable.

User Info Menu

Some VST plugins can be imported into Audacity, I have done it before with amp modeller plug-ins, reverbs etc. There is stuff about how to do it in the online manual.

So you might be able to find an envelope shaper type thing perhaps. E.g. something like these?

Free Transient Shaper VST Plugins!

User Info Menu

Do want a sound like a auto swell with maby compresson/Sustain or even a octave.