The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 13 of 13

User Info Menu

I am going to be doing a couple of worship songs for a religious service from my home studio via a zoom videoconference. I have never done anything like this before. It will be keyboard, vocals and guitar, all amplified. Keyboard and vocals through an Alto110, my guitar through a guitar amp. Computer is a Mac Mini.

I've been using an old IceCam2 with its built in mic for business conferencing, and it's been adequate for that.

Mic for Zoom videoconference?  (And maybe cam too?)-icecam-jpeg

But since we'll being doing professional, amplified music, and I want it to sound a good as possible, I'm wondering if a better mic is in order? Or is the zoom conference audio so limited, that it wouldn't matter anyway?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

Me too. Interested if improved equipment on the front end might help compensate for even a little bit of what seems to be lacking audio on the other end.

I understand most teachers concerns with the bottleneck of limited equipment on the students and of things, but being in a similar situation as yours, mine would mostly be one way and a lot of contexts. I have a Scarlett 2i2 and an SM 27 large diaphragm that I need to take for a test drive.

If you want to take it for test drive, you'd just get someone else to set up a "meeting" , even a separate account from your house , and record the meeting. you'd get a locally saved video version of your recording , if you set it to "record meeting".

Would be a pretty good idea to take it for a test drive during highest traffic times possible , if you're planning on doing this the time when a lot of other people are going to do it, during "typical" service times for holiday or weekly events.

One cool thing zoom DOES actually allow you to do is change audio source midsession. So you could pretty easily A/B couple of components from different sources /inputs/devices etc.