The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 15 of 15

User Info Menu

Did a few demo tunes with this band, trying to see how and where to record an album in the next few months. This is a pretty common mix for this type of sound, but what i 'm missing is the open sound on the drums, ride and hi-hat mostly. In most classic recordings on this style the drums drive the groove with an open ride and more of a treble full sound (for lack of a better explanation..). Probably a lot more overheads in the mix?

Anyway, i hear the problem mostly on the first tune.. Would love to hear opinions on it. I am going to do a remix in the next few days, so.. Sorry for the low quality videos, i just used two cameras i had, no lights, mostly did the sessions to check how we 'd record..

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hi, a fellow lefty here. First off, love your guitar.

Fwiw, I’ve been recording for 20+ years.

It sounds pretty good!!! I do hear the drum “issue”. I’m only listening on an iPad right now, but I’ll do my best. What exactly is going on in the drum mic placement? Mono overhead and kick? What were the mics?

Your options depend a bit on how experienced you are with compression. The very very basic option would be put a limiter on the overheads, pull it down until you like what you hear. Don’t overdo it.

If you’re better with a compressor. Try 2/4/6 to 1 ratio, slow attack fast release. Just a few dB will go a long way. Perhaps explore more compression, but using parallel compression. Afterward experiment with a limiter for a little more life. EQ after that, perhaps a touch of air, high shelf at 15k, pull the freq down and back up, settle where you like, maybe 2-3 dB boost.