The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 13 of 13

User Info Menu

Hello all, I'm a retired music teacher playing guitar about a dozen years now, mostly chord melodies. I've been lucky to working with several singers in my area the past two years. Starting another duo in January. Typically I print our band in a box charts for each singer I work with, since it has the melody as well as the chords.

With the addition of another singer, I'm thinking about using software and iPad or tablet in stead of Biab. I'm aware that iReal pro charts only provide chords, but tons of songs and styles. Biab has both chords and melody but limited in styles, especially non jazz stuff.

So the question is, do musicians using iReal and other soft ware programs just learn melodies by ear? Best systems to use?

Looking for information regarding software systems to use as well as how to approach learning melodies by ear. Learning melodies by ear: by muscle memory, chord shape/melody relationship, note names, or by scale degrees i.e., Misty, starts with 5, 3, 7 of a major 7th chord.

Having played a lot of jazz trumpet, I realize that at this point in my guitar technique, I don't really 'hear' that well on guitar, yet. Perhaps I should bite the bullet and just switch to a software chordal system and learn melodies.

Advice would really be appreciated. Thanks in advance Bill

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I'm not sure I understand your question, but I'll tell you what I see.

The rhythm section guys all have IRealPro as a kind of safety net.

A lot of guys have tablets on which they have a large number of Real Books in one format or another. At the lower level, they have a pdf of each they can scroll through and find the Real Book chart. I believe there is software which streamlines the process of indexing and searching for a chart, to eliminate scrolling. I don't know the details because I've never done it.