Reply to Thread
Posts 1 to 22 of 22

User Info Menu

I've decided to humiliate myself beyond my room.

What equipment do you guys (and gals) use to make a video to post on youtube?

What's an inexpensive way to get a good sound?

I'm totally new at this. All suggestions are welcome.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I've wondered about this very thing myself. I sometimes think about being humiliated somewhere other than my livingroom as well. Curious to see the suggestions.

User Info Menu

Capturing decent video for YouTube is not too hard these days, most laptops and smartphones can do it well enough. I have started using my iPad for this, it has a better onboard video camera than anything else I’ve got.

What is harder is to get good audio. I use a Korg SOS recorder to capture the audio part. I edit/mix the audio file and add reverb etc. using Audacity. Then I match up the video file and the audio file using some video software on my desktop PC.

So it’s all a bit fiddly really. Which is why lots of folks just do the whole thing on a phone and put up with not-so-great sound.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by grahambop View Post
    ...which is why lots of folks just do the whole thing on a phone and put up with not-so-great sound.
    That could work to my advantage ....

User Info Menu

I've done a lot of videotaping myself playing music. It's been an evolution so what I do now is maybe about the end of the process of getting myself set up for recording music videos. I use Reaper and microphones for the audio. Reaper is a software used for recording multitrack recordings and is really robust but inexpensive and is used by pro recording studios.