The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16

User Info Menu

Hi guys,

This is my first time opening a thread and sorry that my first thread is a question.
    I've been using a Sony portable DAT recorder as far as I can remember, using it for recording various occasions including practice sessions, jam sessions, club gigs and so on. It is a perfectly simple record-and-stop solution, and with a Sony's stereo PCM mic, it does its job more than I need.

But recently, I've decided to embrace a new trend in the current music scene and thinking to post my music online via various social services, e.g. SoundCloud and Bandcamp. To do that, I need to import the recordings to MP3 or other digital formats.
    So here is the thing, I don't know how to import DAT recordings to PC. :/ And I'm not sure whether such thing is possible. I know DAT can be a data solution but is there any external drive so I can transfer recordings to PC? I googled it, and there are few companies offer DAT to MP3 transfer. But as I have quite a few DATs I wish I can do it on my own. So I want a permanent solution; if there is any, I am willing to open my wallet to spend a couple of hundred top.

I use a Samsung laptop with Ubuntu Linux, but I can run Windows 10.

Thanks for your insight!
    mezzo

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu