The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 26

User Info Menu

Hi guys, spent the weeekend getting the Guitar Port working and busting my nut on a few unknown things on BIAB, been a very productive weekend by not the the material sence.
    i now hava a few "things" on Hd and was just wondering if you guys thought the same afther having recorded, here we go:
    I've been listening to the things Ive recorded and quite frankly they sound utterly rubbish!!!
    I am a beginner to the Jazz World, but it always sounded better in my head than it does on tape. Is this a bit like hearing ones own voice on tape, you know what I mean, you hear yourself talking and kind of get a "NO WAY", thats no me response!!!!??
    Thoughts on the matter required.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

It took me years to get used to hearing myself on tape and actually digging it, like over a decade of recording stuff. I always felt that there were good moments, but then just when I got going I'd try a tricky run and that was it.

BUT, listening to all those recordings over the years really helped me to focus my practicing on the things I wasn't good at. Now I can listen to a recording of a gig or whatever and think, "that's not half bad." It's hard not to be self-critical but it's a good idea to try and find something good on every recording we do, it may be small at first, but it will grow over time. If we focus too much on the bad stuff, which is easy to do, we may ignore some of the really cool things we already have in our playing.

MW

User Info Menu