The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 43

User Info Menu

Hey gang. I'm not a gear head and admit to being a complete novice when it comes to recording guitar for small, individual projects.

Do you use a Mac laptop with Garage Band and an audio interface?

Do you use Audacity on a PC (I'm not wild about Audacity)

Do you have any preferences among audio interfaces such as the following 2 or others?

Presonus Audiobox USB
    Scarlett 2i2:

I apologize for the state of cluelessness on the topic, and thanks in advance!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I've used Sonar Home Studio, Sonar Producer, and Reaper all on a PC. I've used Protools in a college class, and Garage Band at home both on a Mac.

I haven't notice a recording quality difference between any of those products. The difference is capabilities and features, workflow, educational tutorials, support, online community forum quality, and price (I'm sure I'm missing some).

With all that said, I'm a big fan of Reaper that excels in every one of those categories that I listed.

I think the same can be said for audio interfaces, once you hit a medium level of quality, it's really hard to tell the difference as far as sound quality, at least to me. Important to me is being able to monitor through headphones with no latency when I'm recording tracks (referred to as 'direct monitoring'). Also you want to consider how many tracks you can simultaneously record.

For what it's worth I use a m-audio delta 44 on my PC desktop, it works great.
    Last edited by fep; 06-05-2015 at 10:54 PM.

User Info Menu

Another vote for Reaper. Does more than you'll ever need, very reasonable price, software works just as it's supposed to, and there are lots of tutorials available. I also like Focusrite Scarlett interfaces. Easy to integrate with Reaper on a PC and their drivers appear to be rock solid.

User Info Menu