The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 23 of 23

User Info Menu

I thought I'd ask what you do about odd time sigs.

Lately, I've been doing a lot of 5/4, 7/4, 11/8, 13/8 , 19/8, etc.

Looked through the BIAB site and couldn't find anything specific to this.

The few odd time sig styles I have with BIAB 2014 are corny renditions of things like the take-5 rhythm. So, usually I'll just create custom amount of beats per bar to create 3+2 for 5 or 4+3 for 7 but it doesn't work for 8th note time sigs unless you double the tempo and then the bass and comping get weird.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I'm no expert in BIAB, but am in some relation with it since ATARI days.

As far as I gathered, BIAB meter machine works on either 4/4, or 3/4 base, so it will always be a multiple of 3, or 4, meaning you have to calculate ...., basically, you can not do better than what you already are doing.

If you go into making custom patterns and styles, you can fake it by placing desired number of notes in the bar, at approximate places, giving them lengths to fill the bar, then moving them for suitable number of MIDI clicks so to spread them evenly, use both treble and bass stave to increase possibilities, staccato, legato ... I mean, ... you follow the idea.

Some things are not meant to be some things.

i just upgraded my ezdrummer. There are lots odd meter drum patterns available for it with 11/8 or above.

Good excuse to use my bass too ...

User Info Menu

odd time sigs in BIAB - It's not easy, better off recording tracks in your favorite DAW.

FWIW -

• 12/8: Band-in-a-Box considers 12/8 to be a variation of a 4/4 style (i.e. a 4/4 style with a triplet feel). To make a 12/8 style, just make a 4/4 style in a triplet feel. In other words, one bar of 12/8 is equivalent to one bar of 4/4 in a triplet feel. For an example, choose the "Country 12/8" style from the S menu.