The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 18 of 18

User Info Menu

If I were to purchase the M-audio fast track two channel interface can I plug my condenser mic into my presonus preamp and the presonus into the interface? There seems to be complaints about very low volumes using a condenser mic with the m-audio.

Does anyone have experience using it with realband. I will be basically recording solo guitar and also importing band in a box files to record my practice sessions.

Also, if that works could I use my eq and effects rack in line going to the m-audio.
    Hope that makes sense.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I've no experience with these interfaces but perhaps the folks complaining of low volumes didn't have phantom power on with their condenser mics? You shouldn't need a pre amp for this.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by keith
    I've no experience with these interfaces but perhaps the folks complaining of low volumes didn't have phantom power on with their condenser mics? You shouldn't need a pre amp for this.
    no ...you won't get any audio out of a
    condenser mic if you don't give it phantom power
    (unless its a battery powered type !)

you should be able to plug your mic straight
    into the m audio box (with phantom on !)
    and be fine

what's the max gain on the m audio box
    in dbs .... cant see it online anywhere

User Info Menu

The M-Audio Fast Tracks have changed over the years the ones I remember had a mic input with phantom power and a guitar input, don't see a line input. What is the output of the Presonus line or mic?

My experience the low end M-Audio gear is junk, poor sounding and low level output. The higher end M-Audio gear is okay.

User Info Menu