The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Posts 76 to 87 of 87

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by borges
    I use Lilypond for this, which is free. The main purpose of this programm is of course making scores but you can also create fret diagrams. It's really simple and very fast. The output can be customized if one likes to and have the time for trying things out.
    Thanks for the tip!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by mhch
    One question: using Lilypond, can one select what is displayed on a given fret diagram, note color (ex: root, blue note), note text (root, interval from root, fingering, whatever), etc .. ?
    I am not an expert but I think that Lilypond is strictly black and white. I've never encountered coloured scores or fret diagrams in Lilypond. Note text is also limited. You can only have fingering values in the diagram's dots and fingering includes only number values. You can't print "b3" as value interval, only a "3".

User Info Menu

Curious by nature, I had a look at the Lilypond documentation on the Internet. Here is an interesting piece extracted from it.

In a nutshell, it says Lilypond is meant to write music using staves and the usual guitar extensions (fingering, harmonics, tablature, chord diagram above staff) but not really to create chord and scale dictionaries.

But anyway, it's useful to know there is a available tool and to know its limitations.

2.4.2 Guitar