The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 49 of 49
    I agree with Derek above. Wes has gotten more credit for his style, technique, octaves, etc. I feel than almost any other guitarist. When I started playing jazz many years ago, I tried to listen to anything that was not Wes or Wes influenced (not that I do not love the heck out of him and his playing) because his style was much emulated by every player after him and he was always given as an example of top jazz guitar playing.

Guitarist like Grant Green, Rene Thomas, even Johnny Smith and Django Reinhardt get far less credit for their contributions compared to Wes.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Reading this thread all over again, I guess what the thread starter was asking is why he did not get more credibility for his technical proficiency - not that he did not get any. I've read several books and articles about Wes, and it's mostly about octaves and thumb picking. I guess the best way to answer the question is: it's not that people don't recognize how he played over changes, or his sense of time, or his chops (I've read several which studied his style in detail), but it becomes overshadowed by the uniqueness of his thumb playing, and the distinct tone of it, especially when playing octaves. This is what made Wes special. Eventually, when someone credit someone, it's not about what most people already have (it was not only Wes who had some serious chops), but what most people did not have.

It's like Joe Pass mostly being credited for his improvisational talent with chord melody, not that he did not play in a band and had some serious chops to show for, but the skill he showed in his solo guitar playing is something unique to other guitar players.

User Info Menu