The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 18 of 18

User Info Menu

Please recommend some contemporary/current jazz guitarists that play mostly '50s and '60s swing and bop, and standards. My favorite jazz players are the old masters...Pass, Montgomery, Christian, Green, Kessel, Ellis, Burrell, Pisano, Raney, Martino, Van Eps, Alden, Smith, Hall, Benson, and many others. I also like horns and small combos and big bands. But for the sake of this discussion I'd appreciate sticking to guitar players.

I'd like to hear current interpretations of the styles of jazz mentioned above. Some examples would be Frank Vignola and Russell Malone, John Pizzerelli, and others. Although some of those branch off into the more progressive styles. But that's OK, I like that too.

In addition to being a musician I'm an audiophile. So I like to listen to really well recorded jazz, instrumental and vocal. Some of the older recordings are wonderful to listen to but some of those recordings also aren't the best recorded. Modern technology has provided us countless examples of extremely well recorded recordings. Yes, that same technology can produce some poorly recorded bloopers. But, for the most part recordings these days are are very well done.

Sorry to say I've immersed myself so much in the older jazz music and players that I've virtually ignored many of the current players. I don't even know the names of many great contemporary guitar players, except for Pat Metheny, John Scofield, John Abercrombie, and just a few others. "Contemporary" is a relative term here as Pat Metheny and the others mentioned above have actually been around for several decades. But I think you know what I mean.

Anyway, let me know of any newer players on the scene I might benefit from listening to. Especially those that, at least loosely, stay within the boundaries of traditional straight ahead jazz. Who should I be listening to?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary