The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 17 of 17

User Info Menu

If there is such thing as the greatest jazz guitar player of all time I, for the life of me, can't even begin to imagine anyone better than Hank Garland. I've been listening to this guy for 50+ years and he never fails to make my head wagging muscles cramp. He's simply gifted beyond belief. That is all.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

User Info Menu

been extolling hank around here for long while..great player

was huge influence on george benson and jimmy bruno!

cheers

I saw that movie. It was a good'n. Thanks for the link!

User Info Menu

also

cheers

User Info Menu

Someone had about 2 sets of Garland live at the Carousel Club in Nashville on YouTube several years back and now it's gone. I didn't know how to download and save and I sure wish I had known as it was fantastic. And I love After The Riot At Newport album, I've listened to it so many times. I was amazed at how good Boots and Floyd played, I never knew they went in that direction. But yes few if any excelled in multiple genres as Garland could.

User Info Menu

Just finished Gary Burton's book, Hank was instrumental in getting Burton signed to RCA and helping him move to Nashville and introducing him around as a teen, resulting in Hank's famous Jazz Winds lp.

User Info Menu

hank g @ carousel...bits

cheers

User Info Menu

tks and best I remember the sets I heard were a 3 piece, Hank, drums and upright. I thought I had read that Boots was so impressed and responsible for bringing Burton to Nashville to meet Hank

User Info Menu

Boots was also instrumental as well as Chet Atkins.

User Info Menu

hank playing a byrdland with his trio (Boyce Hawkins on piano, Grady Martin on bass) at the Carousel Club in Nashville, 1959.

cheers

User Info Menu