The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Posts 76 to 93 of 93

User Info Menu

I have been planning on posting but didn't know how to get my point across. You did with "Just the deftness of how he gets chords in there".

As others have noted all professional jazz guitar players use chords in their solo (even Grant Green, ha ha), but most typically either start or end a passage with a chord, or the entire passage is chords (Wes); I.e. single line solo then a solo using mostly chords.

Barney gets his chord 'in there' often in unexpected places (well at least to me on the first listen of a recording).

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

And just because I'm studying Barney's immortal masterwork "Satin Doll", I'll just give this thread a bump and put it out there that he is my favorite jazz guitarist bar none. There are others I love almost as much (the unfairly obscure Remo Palmieri being one), and others that dazzle me more (Wes for instance) but given the choice to only listen to one guitarist for the rest of my day I'll take Barney – quirks included.

As for being sloppy – I call that "taking risks and following your musical idea to its end no matter what". These are qualities, not weaknesses for an improviser. That mindset (and the head-hand connection that goes with it) is the reason why Barney's package includes (along the occasionally dirty lines) an overflow of swinging, lyrical, humorous, whimsical, intricate – always musical – phrases. His going berserk on the 3rd chorus of
    Satin Doll and then giving that massive hit on the brakes at the end of the chorus? Genius.

And don't get me started on him as a chord soloist ;D

I'd have loved to get to meet him personally.

User Info Menu

I agree, Barney wasn't afraid to take risks

Barney burnin'.

User Info Menu

My homage to Barney:

User Info Menu

Beautiful! Thanks for posting this, Rob!

User Info Menu