The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 18 of 18

User Info Menu

Hey y'all! I'm a year 12 student in Australia and I'm doing an investigation task for curriculum music about the comping styles of various jazz greats. My music teacher has suggested I find three guitarists with distinct styles (I'm thinking Freddie, Joe Pass & Wes Montgomery), then find them each performing the same standard and analyse their comping in it.
    Initially, I was going to do Take the A Train because it's one of my audition pieces for my jazz degree I'll be starting next year. Problem is, I can only find Freddie doing it in an orchestral setting - none of his characteristic comping. I'm also having trouble finding recordings where Joe isn't playing lead.
    I'm fairly new to jazz - I've only really gotten into it this year! Do you guys know of any recordings which really demonstrate the classic comping styles of these three greats, of the same tune?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

with Joe comping start looking at him comping with a singer, he did a lot of stuff with ella fitzgerald so that's a starting point. with Wes maybe look at him comping behind the piano player or behind vibes, but he sometimes is hard to hear or drops out.

As for tunes, if you can't find a common one, just do a blues because that's a pretty easy starting point.

User Info Menu

Finding a cut from all three on the same tune where you can really hear their comping is a tall order, maybe impossible. Here are three cuts where their styles are very audible.

Here's a cut where you can really hear Wes' great comping:

Check out Joer's comping behind the bass solo by Niels HOP:

A clip of Freddie where you can really hear him. With the big band, his contributions were often more "felt" than heard:

User Info Menu

Do you compare guitar comping in styles.. or certain player's guitar comping...