The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 18 of 18

User Info Menu

Hello, Jazz Guitar community.

One of my favorite jazz guitar albums is Jim Hall & Pat Metheny, and my favorite track from that album is All across the city. I know that the great Jim Hall plays electric guitar on that track and that Pat Metheny plays acoustic or electro-acoustic.

I'm a beginner. My brother is a very good guitar player, but he is more of a rock/metal player and I asked him what kind of guitar was that one. He said it was maybe an acoustic/electro-acoustic with nylon strings.

I know that some of you in this forum have hear this incredible rendition of All Across the City and can tell me more accurately what type of guitar is Pat playing on that track.

I wanted to buy a hollow body, but after hearing Pat in that song I want to buy a guitar that sounds like the one he is playing on that track. I also want to know if he is playing with his fingers or if he is playing with a pick.

Have in mind that I'm a beginner. What kind of guitar could be good for me to start on acoustic jazz, an acoustic guitar that has that kind of dark, expressive sound?

Thanks a lot.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

There's the Metheny-Manzer Signature 6, by Canadian Luthier Linda Manzer - $32,

Metheny-Manzer Signature 6 - A Limited Edition of 30 Very Special Guitars - Order Yours Today

Quote Originally Posted by BigDaddyLoveHandles
    There's the Metheny-Manzer Signature 6, by Canadian Luthier Linda Manzer - $32,

Metheny-Manzer Signature 6 - A Limited Edition of 30 Very Special Guitars - Order Yours Today
    All I can say is that, for the moment, I won't be one of the 29 owners, since Paul Simon alredy got one.

Any advice for a beginner who is far form being a millionaire and doesn't play any lottery?

User Info Menu

32 dollars and three shrieks is not bad. (;

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by DHR