The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 28

User Info Menu

WES MONTGOMERY – ON TALENT vs. DETERMINATION
    "Natural talent? Now, I've had a lot of arguments on this. My interpretation of natural talent, or gift, is something that you don't have to indulge in at all. I mean, like if I was a natural electronic engineer, and you showed me a television set for the first time, I would see right away what was wrong with it. But if I have to study reasons why, and build up my own theory, I'm putting hard efforts into it. Now, over a period of time, I might make that come out where people will respect it. But they won't be going through the hardships - they'll just be seeing it at the point of completion. This is where people have been mistaken about me. They don't know about the times when I'd be sitting up, thinking. If I'd go to a movie show, I'd be looking at the picture, but I'd be hearing changes. You understand? This is how much determination I had for playing."
    - Wes Montgomery

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

there are a lot of misconceptions about Wes, like how hard he practiced to get that good.
    no matter how talented you are, you have to put in the time to achieve anything.

he may have had a great ear which might have made it a little easier than the average Joe, but he certainly woodshedded a ton to became what he became.

User Info Menu

IMHO ... Talent is overrated. It simply means some people get there a bit or even a lot faster ... But without wanting it, nobody ever gets great at anything. Wanting something and really meaning it and putting in the work is much more important than talent ... IMHO Wes being Wes, is just the great guy he was and had the nicest way of saying that. He left us way too early!

User Info Menu

another misconception is that Wes was a total ear player and had no concept of chords etc.