The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 49 of 49

User Info Menu

Nothing yet from Tony D or Robert Conti. Dang. Well, we'll leave the light on for 'em! ;o)

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Mark. In one of Robert Conti's Transcription books,it is stated that he, Conti" is mainly self-taught after a dozen lessons from Joe Sgro and whom he credits as an early influence".

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by thelostboss
    According to the blurbs on the Guitar Master site, picking instructions based on the "JS Slur-Alternate System" are included in the Tillman books. Worldcat lists only the University of Texas libraries as holding a copy of these books. Perhaps a member here could have a look and report their findings.
    I ordered the Hanon book and expect it soon. James Hillman, the author of the Guitar Master series, wrote the following to me in an email:

>>>>>My books are not based on improvising, but more
    geared to developing technique and skill in performing
    over the full range of the instrument. I decided to add
    the Joe Sgro picking system to my books, and this caused
    me to thoroughly learn the picking system.

Joe checked the accuracy of the picking and give me in
    writing his endorsement and permission to teach his
    system and use his pictures. He said that he had never
    endorsed any product before, even though he had been

often approached by major guitar manufactures.<<<<<<

I'm curious about the Sgro picking system and how it compares with what Jimmy Bruno teaches in "The Art of Picking."
    I'm also interested in the 3-octave scale approach.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by jazzuki
    Mark. In one of Robert Conti's Transcription books,it is stated that he, Conti" is mainly self-taught after a dozen lessons from Joe Sgro and whom he credits as an early influence".