The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 17 of 17

User Info Menu

I have see a few other threads concerning method books and approaches. I have just recently downloaded Pat Martinos "Creative Force" material and have started looking through it. My reference point is that I am a relative beginner to jazz guitar, and unfortunately never had any music theory training earlier on, and I have acquired a library of reference material on the subject to try to help me orient myself.

What I hope to get is some response as to how others feel Pat has been able to organize his approach and make it make sense. My humble impression is (through the first few pages) that it well organized, ie and he makes very good sense of chord construction and understanding the principles of construction, as opposed to memorisation. I assume this branches out in scales and fretboard organization but havent gotten that far yet. The approach seems pretty good to me, does anyone else have it? and have an opinion to share?

I think probably, if he keeps practicing what he preaches, that boy might just make something of himself!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I can't remember which Martino video I saw, but I will say that I found some of his stuff pompous and overblown. He was using bizarre/invented terminology that only clouded the information. I had to watch it a couple times to figure out that he was simply reinventing the wheel and putting his own terminology.

But then one could say that every method is reinventing the wheel. All the information is out there and they are just repackaging it into a marketable form.