The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 20 of 20

User Info Menu

I ran across this video
    and I really enjoyed his playing style and just looking for some advice on how to get there. I'm pretty new to jazz guitar so what's the idea behind what he's doing. It doesn't sound too difficult but just need some direction.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

RR,
    Good find! Here's a link to some info:

The Jazz Guitar Blog: May 2009

You'll note that he is well grounded in classic jazz. People who play modern stuff this well, without sounding forced or contrived, usually have pretty deep roots.

Regards,
    monk

So what would you recommend that I start working on? I know a lot of that has to do with what I know and can already do so I'll give you my thoughts of where I'm at. I've been playing gutiar for 10 years or so but only really learning the instrument for the last year and half. I haven't learned a lot of licks and mostly just improv my leads. I've got some theory under my belt and know how to use things like chord structure, major and minor scales and keys, CAGED, harmonic minor, modes, chord tones, major/minor/diminished arps, parallel minors, some inversions and I'm learning about tritone substitutions right now. I've tried learning some standards but it's seems like such a chore to learn songs that I don't think I'll ever play and to learn them that far inside and out. Is there a way around learning jazz without having to learn standards? Mostly when I play lead anymore I try to just hit chord tones and use extensions. I know I need to work more on passing tones but what else would you suggest.
    Thanks

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Random Robot
    I've tried learning some standards but it's seems like such a chore to learn songs that I don't think I'll ever play and to learn them that far inside and out. Is there a way around learning jazz without having to learn standards?
    Thanks