The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 18 of 18

User Info Menu

Hi people, I need to learn to play the blues guitar and the thing being that its not as easy as it seems cause I cannot find a good teacher to make me learn this and the second thing being the cost of private lessons…. so I am looking for online classes. I have an acoustic guitar with strings made from other than nylon in standard tuning.

I have some basic knowledge and know to play a few chords. But what I need is a crash course or something for beginners to get on going. Please do drop in your ideas to help me. (Hail the great William Christopher Handy who wrote the first blues song “Memphis Blues”)

Thanks in advance!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Try this site:

Solo Guitar - The Blues Scales - Slowhand Blues Guitar

It's devoted to Eric Clapton's style, but there is a tremendous amount of useful stuff on it related to music theory as it relates to blues. I got quite a lot from this site when I was first starting guitar.

This is not "jazz blues" though, although what you will learn can definitely be used in a jazz context.

Also, it's more focused on electric guitar, but if you can bend your strings up at least one whole step, you can apply most of what is on this site to your acoustic guitar.

User Info Menu

I believe that it’s good to learn online as I have the example of my friend who has really made himself good on guitar by learning from the net. He used to learn blues guitar by online lessons and it did him good. It was hotstrings.
    An easy introduction to the most important techniques and styles of blues guitar playing. 100 exercises and tracks for your first solo and rhythm guitar playing. Direct downloadable to your pc.

I've picked up a slew of cool licks off YouTube. I know it may come off cheesy, but there's some great gems tucked away in there.

User Info Menu

+1 on Youtube