The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 44

User Info Menu

Hey guys, I started learning piano in May. It's been a really fun experience. Here's some video in 4 parts describing the process. There is some static that I couldn't figure out; after the first video, it's minimal.

Use headphones turned up for best sound.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

Here is 2B:

Last part:

Comments? Other experiences with piano?

Not much interest in piano around here?

I know my playing is pretty mediocre (and nervous) in these -- it's only been four months.

User Info Menu

I didn't listen to what you were saying, just listened to the musical sounds. I dunno man, but just about any musician should be able to knock out those notes on a keyboard.

User Info Menu

Hey good job, you're doing the right things. I'm an organist and pianist and guitar/bass is my 2nd instrument. Yeah, so you're doing the right things. Learning melodies, learning how chords can be voiced anywhere and in any way, playing stuff involving independent left and right hand parts, playing stuff in time to the drums. If you like it, keep it up.

User Info Menu

Maybe my response was a bit hasty. A lot of the houses I went into as a kid in the UK had some kind of upright standing in the study, sitting room etc., often slightly out of tune, and one would learn to play basic "white key" triads, arps and simple melodies just because. Maybe not everyone has had access to a bashed up old piano (light bulb moment).

Which reminds me, I must get a keyboard! Very useful for mapping stuff out.

User Info Menu

Additional piano lessons are compulsory in every music school.
    They rely on the right positioning of the hands and playing simple tunes.
    Finally, you need to pass an exam.
    This is how it was in my time when I attended music school.

User Info Menu