The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 44

User Info Menu

Given that there doesn't seem to be a great home for jazz piano on other forums, interested if having a dedicated thread here for guitarists also practicing jazz piano would stay afloat.

Personally, I am interested in others' methods and approaches to picking up jazz piano--what they are practicing and what their learning roadmap looks like.

I'm quite a beginner on piano still--I've been practicing classical & pop piano for the last 6 months, and now starting to dip into some jazz concepts. Currently I have been practicing my ii V7 I voicings with the root in the left hand and 3+7 in the right hand. Starting to also practice 1+3+7 in the left hand to help free up the right hand for melodies and solos.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

My wife plays the piano, so I dabble on it occasionally, not very seriously though. I can pick out melodies and even some jazz licks quite well by ear, also I think it helps that the layout of the keyboard is so logical compared to the guitar.

I wasn’t sure how best to voice left hand chords, I kept trying to put too many notes in the LH and it was too complicated. I found some useful tutorials on YouTube about this. Eventually I settled for the ‘Bud Powell’ approach, at its simplest you just play 2 notes, e.g. root + 7 or root + 3. It works surprisingly well and lets you focus on the right hand.

User Info Menu

I've started working on this book in the last two weeks. I think it's great. Written for jazz musicians including those that don't yet play piano. As such it immediately dives into jazz chords. (So far as mentioned above, just two notes in the left hand).
    Attached Images Attached Images The Jazz Piano Thread-jerry-coker-piano-jpg 

User Info Menu

Here's an example from very early in the book. Note how easy that is to play, yet it sounds so hip.