The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 46

User Info Menu

Hey guys,

Man, I love reading the posts around here. There are some really knowledgeable folks in this forum. I would really appreciate some general advice from the jazz guys around here.

Here's the deal. I'm a blues guy basically who wants to learn how to play the jazzier side of blues like some of my favorite players (TBone and BB for example). But more than that, I LOVE western swing and jump blues.

Here's the question. I am studying jazz because I believe that it's going to help me open up my playing and give me a better mastery of my instrument. And I'm hoping that the comping and soloing exercises will eventually be applicable in western swing tunes. But if you were in my shoes, how would you approach learning this style of playing? Obviously, listening to the tunes and trying to learn them by ear is the way a lot of guys do it. But would you study jazz as part of your roadmap to this destination? Am I wasting my time? Any other advice you can give me? Anybody out there play western swing? Just curious.

Michael
    Last edited by strathound; 06-08-2009 at 10:35 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Ray Benson of Asleep at the Wheel has a video out on western swing. He teaches a couple of songs and some licks. It's him and Johnny Gimble playing fiddle.

Also, Joe Carr has a couple of videos on western swing.
    Good starting point. You learn something you can put to use right away.

User Info Menu

yes! you need hipper chords, and to learn how to play changes, and jazz will teach you that.

my prediction: you won't just stop at the "bluesy side of jazz" and you'll get bitten like the rest of us.

User Info Menu