The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 26

User Info Menu

Hi guys!

I looked around a bit at my home town, which is lacking of a guitar teacher, to start my guitar school for beginners (well, I am also a beginner in many ways...), and realized, that they all want to learn rock. I never learnt rock, dont know how to play/teach that. I know the minor pentatonic and the power chords are the most important, and some technique, like hammer-on, pull-off, slide, vibrato. I dont know the tapping technique.

So after I got that feedback from some guys who want to learn, I decided to give this teaching one more year, or rather to give one more year to myself, to learn a bunch of things before I start teaching.

Nevertheless, I wont give up learning jazz, my fauvorite, I am planning to visit another official jazz guitar school, but this is a bit "off topic" of here.

So my question is how do you learn/teach rock if you ever do that? What are the most important elements of that?

Thanks a lot.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

If it's old school "classic" rock, it's all about blues guitar actually (my opinion). Select some classic rock tunes and go from there, I'd say...

User Info Menu

Sorry, but as a teacher, if you say you are a beginner yourself, teaching something you don't know how to do is a pretty bad idea.

User Info Menu

I didnt say I am absolutely a beginner at guitar. I said I am a beginner in many ways. I am beginner at teaching, and in rock for example. Thats why I said I am going to give one more full year for myself. I think 1 year will be enough to learn the rock thing plus to put a teaching material together.

I just want to know what are Your thoughts on teaching rock guitar.

Thanks

User Info Menu