The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 37

User Info Menu

Hi

I've recently got myself an Oud, and though I'm primarily a fingerpicker, I've been getting back into flatpicking because the Oud is played with a flatpick (risha in the Arabic).

Are there any other Oud players in this forum? (I suppose I shouldn't really call myself an Oud "player"as yet: I'm just an Oud beginner.) Have you played Oud in Jazz? What gotchas are there?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Not me, but I'd be up for learning - what Oud did you get?

User Info Menu

Not me either but I love the instrument. I saw Anouar Brahem around 2000 and it was one of the best performances of improvised music I've ever heard.

Last edited by mrcee; 07-05-2015 at 09:30 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by christianm77
    Not me, but I'd be up for learning - what Oud did you get?
    Just a beginner Egyptian Oud, with all the wonderful decoration on the neck and back. Got a sweet tone, though, which is all I'm worried about.

User Info Menu

Serendipity!!....

because I'm currently listening to Anouar Brahem's album "Le Pas Du Chat Noir" whilst perusing this forum and came across this thread......lol

User Info Menu

I am playing and learning the Turkish oud.

Beautiful instrument but hard to master.

Quote Originally Posted by michael_bxl
    I am playing and learning the Turkish oud.

Beautiful instrument but hard to master.

Amen to that. I thought at first I would find it easy, because of my violin/viola/cello experience in playing in tune (or a reasonable semblance thereof ) but it was harder than I thought, because the sound was plucked, not bowed, and for a while I was all over the show.

User Info Menu

If it is to play some western things we use to ear, I think it is doable.