The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 34 of 34
    I appreciate your thoughtful response, Harry.

A quick update. I read through Larry Fines book, a very helpful guide. Combined with his website and online database that covers pricing, it has been a very valuable resource for me. I have visited a number of piano show rooms that carry digital and acoustic pianos. I have learned a lot in the last month. I haven't purchased a piano yet, but I am getting closer.

I also purchased a number of the piano books mentioned earlier in the thread and have looked over/read through a few of them. The Mark Levine books are especially clearly written and will be a great resource.

I haven't started to look for a teacher, but will begin that process soon.

Thanks again, everyone.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Interesting discussion! I am a self-taught pianist over many years, and I tend to agree with most everything voiced here about the benefits of learning to play piano. I do regret never taking any formal lessons as a kid, but I'm not looking to go to Julliard in this lifetime. My classical guitar training was helpful, but for many of us not aspiring to play Beethoven, there are other avenues to pursue. Just learning chords is a good start, especially if you are very proficient on the guitar.